Aha moment!

I recently wrote a short essay on education and the way it has been used to assimilate marginalized peoples. I was basically saying in the essay that as long as education perpetuates an eurocentric ideal then oppression will continue. One of my professors engaged me in a conversation in which he told me that although the position I took was correct it was also the easiest position to take. Needless to say that stirred me up in a number of ways as well as had a slightly paralyzing effect on me. Once I got over my impulse to disagree and explain to him how little I thought he really knew about the subject, I sat with it. I sat with the feeling of questioning myself and what I knew to be true. I sat with it for almost two weeks. During those two weeks I experienced confusion, self doubt, emptiness, stuck-ness and a little bit of discouragement. I really thought I knew what I was talking about and when confronted with the idea that there was a different and perhaps more valuable position to take I was thrown off. It’s not as if I didn’t know there were other positions it’ just that I thought this was the most important one! It was during the writing of my last essay that a transformation happened for me and I had the aha moment! I realized that the more difficult and more inspired position to take and the one I will be taking as I move forward would be to explore the way the education can offer a process of transformation for people. How can education free people from oppressed states? I know for me that self knowledge and the ability to express myself verbally, through art and music and through writing is powerful. It has been through reflective writing that I have been freed up from some pretty limiting perceptions of myself and the world. It’s exciting for me to be able to inquire into the way the education can empower and free people from oppressed states. I, like many others, have been my own worst enemy in the past but am now experiencing the way that education can be be an integral part of my journey towards self actualization. I am looking forward to approaching education from this fresh and much needed perspective.

About dmfindlay

I am currently enrolled in the Master of Education program at SFU focussing on Contemplative Inquiry and Approaches in Education. This blog outlines my journey over the next 2 years
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Aha moment!

  1. “I realized that the more difficult and more inspired position to take and the one I will be taking as I move forward would be to explore the way the education can offer a process of transformation for people.”

    Great! Exploring the literature on transformative education would be great. If by any chance you are not so familiar with that literature, I would be happy to send you some material. But you can easily find a lot of material online, including free access to the Journal of Transformative Education.
    http://jtd.sagepub.com

    Like

  2. “I sat with the feeling of questioning myself and what I knew to be true. I sat with it for almost two weeks. During those two weeks I experienced confusion, self doubt, emptiness, stuck-ness and a little bit of discouragement. I really thought I knew what I was talking about and when confronted with the idea that there was a different and perhaps more valuable position to take I was thrown off.”

    Yeah, not an easy place to be! But in transformative learning theory, this is exactly where transformative moments often begin.

    “I realized that the more difficult and more inspired position to take and the one I will be taking as I move forward would be to explore the way the education can offer a process of transformation for people. How can education free people from oppressed states?”

    Yes, the way forward. Excellent! And as Freire says, this has to be win-win, for both oppressed and oppressors.

    “I know for me that self knowledge and the ability to express myself verbally, through art and music and through writing is powerful. It has been through reflective writing that I have been freed up from some pretty limiting perceptions of myself and the world.”

    Yes, so there are viable vehicles for transformation.

    ” It’s exciting for me to be able to inquire into the way the education can empower and free people from oppressed states.”

    Yeah, it is exciting!

    “… but am now experiencing the way that education can be be an integral part of my journey towards self actualization. I am looking forward to approaching education from this fresh and much needed perspective.”

    Wonderful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

