Medicine

This is a photo of my medicines complete with a picture of my mother and our beloved dog Heidi, both passed. Also featured are saje, devils club, lavender, and other natural resources that we use on a regular basis to become grounded, connected to spirit or to cleanse and release negative emotions and spiritual energy. This is a very natural part of our life that enables us to find our way back to what is most important. I thank my Auntie Jackie and elder Gloria Nahanee for sharing their teachings with me. Although, this is a practice we embrace I am very mindful when working with other communities. I always invite the practices of the the community to be shared and acknowledge that my teachings are incomplete. I am always willing to be in the role of the learner when I visit communities. I may be there as a teacher and facilitator but in order to be effective I must be willing to learn from the people first. Otherwise, I am at risk of perpetuating paternalistic and oppressive cycles.

Medicines

Medicines

About dmfindlay

I am currently enrolled in the Master of Education program at SFU focussing on Contemplative Inquiry and Approaches in Education. This blog outlines my journey over the next 2 years
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

